build your own site

Conference Overview

Subaru Telescope is the 8.2-meter flagship optical-infrared telescope of the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan, located at the MaunaKea Observatory on Hawaii. Since its scientific first light in 1999, Subaru has been expanding our understanding of the universe with remarkable results in various research fields from our solar system all the way out to the earliest Universe.
This symposium will celebrate the 20th anniversary of Subaru and highlight our recent scientific outcomes in parallel sessions. We also aim to share and discuss the on-going/future large programs (to be) conducted on Subaru Telescope including international collaborations in the general session. The Subaru User’s Meeting FY2019 will also be combined with this conference.

  • Ethics and Anti-harassment Statement - The organisers consider this symposium to be a privileged opportunity for free and active exchanges of scientific ideas, as well as for the nurturing and creation of professional and social contacts. Any abuse of power or inappropriate behaviour has no place at this symposium. We specifically refer to the NINS Researcher Code of Conduct (, which will apply during the symposium. By registering for this symposium, all participants confirm that they have read the documents and that they will follow its recommendations.
  • Maunakea Site Acknowledgement - We wish to recognize and acknowledge the very significant cultural role and reverence that the summit of Maunakea has always had within the indigenous Hawaiian community. We are most fortunate to have the opportunity to conduct observations from this mountain. (Please see also a summary of activities by Maunakea Observatories.)

Local Organization Committee

Subaru staffs are oraganizing this conference

Sakurako Okamoto (Assistant Professor) - chair
Rhythm Shimakawa (NAOJ Fellow) - chair
Mari Endo (Assistant to the Director)
Lucio Ramos (Instrumentation/Electronics Technician)
Etsuko Mieda (Support Astronomer)
Yuhei Takagi (Support Astronomer)
Yoji Seto (Administration office)
Ichi Tanaka (Support Astronomer)
Rieko Murai (Public Information & Outreach Office)
Kiaina Schubert (System Administrator)
Jinshi Sai (PhD Student)
Shigeru Namiki (PhD Student)
Eiji Kambe (Associate Professor)
Hyewon Suh (Subaru Fellow) 
Sadman Ali (Subaru Fellow)
Ananya Sahoo
(PhD Student)
Masato Onodera (Assistant Professor)
Yusei Koyama (Assistant Professor)
Hirofumi Okita (Assistant Professor)
Yoshito Ono (Assistant Professor)
Olivier Guyon (ExAO Project Scientist)
Yuko Kakazu (Public information & outreach office)
Noriko Roth (Subaru Operaton Associate)
Satoshi Sugawara (Administration office)
Masayo Nakajima (Public information & outreach office)
Satoko Chiba (General Affairs)
Noriko Otsuki (General Affairs)
Keiko Formanek (Administration office)
Yuka Niimi (Administration office)
Ryoko Sur (Administration office)
Hiromi Chung (Administration office)
Richard Tamae (Facility Maintenance)


The Subaru Telescope 20th anniversary conference is financially supported by the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan (under the 5th NAOJ Symposium), Kavli IPMU, Astrobiology Center, JSPS KAKENHI (Grant Number 15H020695001), and TMT-J Project.


Subaru Telescope
650 N Aohoku Pl
Hilo, HI, 96720 United States


Dr. Sakurako Okamoto
Dr. Rhythm Shimakawa
at Subaru Telescope


LOC Email Address
subaru20anniv_loc <AT>